Notes

There are times I think I do respond more, theologically speaking, to Unitarian Universalism. Naturally I do not always agree with their politics. Things have changed so much.

WHAT exactly has changed?

Well, we all know that the leftists are more authoritarian now, and it has accelerated SO FAST.

And…to me, one of the biggest differences is the presence of the "queers" or the people who are not just cisgender gays or lesbians or even just ordinary trans folk who recognize the reality of biological gender. The queers are the ones who are nonbinary, who use they/them pronouns, etc. People like Sam Smith, men who choose to wear dresses (why, I have no idea).

That has been a big change, especially since 2015. But my own problems with the UUs on a political level go back a bit further.

Maybe I never was all that liberal to begin with. I’ve always been a patriot. I’ve always believed in the USA and the Constitution and the Pledge of Allegiance and all that. I’ve always seriously believed that the USA is the best country on earth, that no one does freedom the way we do.

And on some level, I have always believed in the inherent rightness of Christianity. I just believed it.

But some would say I was brainwashed. Or just really stupid and naive. But I think it’s more like, I was happy there. I was happy being that way. And the thing is, I am just now realizing it was rude as hell of the woke to rob me of my happiness. I mean, if whatever one is doing is not doing harm, and in fact is generating happiness, then who is anyone to disrupt that?

Suddenly I really, really understand the snake in the garden thing. I was, on many levels, both Adam and Eve. But then the snake appeared, got me to question things, got me assuming I could determine what was good and what was evil for myself, and I was cast out of Eden.

And it might be said that I did it to myself. Just as Adam and Eve, on certain levels, did it to themselves.

That feels right. That feels very right. Something about that exegesis clicks – and it’s scary. It’s scary because on the one hand, I’ve wanted Christianity to work for me. It would make my life so much easier. But if it does work – it means things have to change, and I am not sure I’m ready for the changes yet.

Leave a comment